Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

feedburner count

China Scholarship Council - University of Adelaide Joint Postgraduate Scholarships Program

Label: , , ,

The China Scholarship Council (CSC) and The University of Adelaide (UA) are jointly offering postgraduate research scholarships to students from the People's Republic of China who intend to undertake a postgraduate research degree at the University of Adelaide. Up to 50 scholarships will be available for students commencing in semester 2, 2010.
UA will provide an Adelaide University China Fee Scholarship to each student selected under this program. This Scholarship will pay the full tuition fee. CSC will provide each student selected under this program with a living allowance as prescribed from time to time by the Chinese Government for the term of the Scholarship, a return airfare to Australia by the most economical route, visa application fees, and the cost of the Australian Government approved Overseas Student Health Cover. Fares for dependants and removal expenses will not be provided.
Only candidates undertaking a Doctor of Philosophy program are eligible. If the selected Chinese students successfully complete the requirements of the program, they will be conferred with a Doctor of Philosophy degree by the University of Adelaide.
Scholarships under this program will be for up to four years, subject to satisfactory academic progress, An extension beyond three and a half years requires the approval of both CSC and the University.
On occasions the University of Adelaide may accept students into joint degree programs with Chinese University partner institutions whereby students spend part of their time at each of the two universities. Students interested in these arrangements should, prior to application, check with the Adelaide Graduate Centre to see if such an arrangement exists. In the event that such an agreement does exist students will be directed to a special application form as they should NOT use the standard China Scholarship Council-University of Adelaide application form.

Adelaide University China Fee Scholarships will only be available to those applicants who:
  • Are citizens and permanent residents of the People's Republic of China at the time of application;
  • Are less than 35 years old at the time of application (this is a CSC eligibility requirement);
  • Are a university student completing a master's degree, or enrolled as a first year PhD student, or new graduates from their university at the time of application;
  • Are not currently working or studying abroad (outside the People's Republic of China);
  • Agree to return to China upon completion of their studies and/or research;
  • Hold an unconditional offer of enrolment at the University of Adelaide, which is subject to the applicant also being successful in applying for a CSC award. They must therefore fulfil the relevant academic entry requirements set by the University of Adelaide for all international scholarship holders, including a high level of English language proficiency;
  • English is the language of instruction at the University of Adelaide and proficiency in speaking, listening to, reading and writing English is essential. The IELTS (International English Language Testing System) is the preferred English language proficiency. Information about the Minimum English language proficiency for entry can be found at http://www.international.adelaide.edu.au/admission/#elp2009.
  • The Scholarships will give priority to graduates of the Chinese universities listed as "985 Project (pdf 9kB)" Universities.
  • Satisfy the selection criteria set out by CSC by completing the CSC Application Form and the CSC Employer Reference Form at http://apply.csc.edu.cn/
Applicants should be intending to pursue a PhD in one of the priority areas identified by CSC or one of those identified by the University of Adelaide. Currently, the seven priority areas for these scholarships are:
  • High and New Technology in Agriculture
  • Applied Social Science and WTO-related Areas (e.g., Finance)
  • Energy Sources and Environment
  • Engineering
  • Life Science and Public Health
  • Material Science and New Material
  • Telecommunication and lnformation Technology